Speculation, Conceptualization and The Daily Grind


From tricycle.com, via email:

When we find ourselves spinning off into thoughts that are further and further from the reality that generated them, we need to become aware and notice what sparks our indulgent thinking. Our observation may not arrest the stream of concerns immediately, and they may continue to be a nuisance. But through observation we can begin to find the inner intelligence and clear comprehension that doesn’t believe in all that compulsive speculation. Through learning to observe in this way, we can save ourselves much confusion in life.

– Christopher Titmuss, from An Awakened Life (Shambhala Publications)

I was thinking about this today, actually: as I become more engrossed in my job, I find that I’m less “centered.” I meditate every morning now, but I find that throughout the day I am living more in anticipation of the next moment, the next hour, the next deadline.

I try to pause and become aware that part of my job, as a commercial artist, is to conceptualize; my role is to imagine something that has not yet been created, and then create it. The trick is to not let the anticipation that is part of the creative process create anxiety: what exists in the mind doesn’t always exist in reality, and the internal tension can be a great distraction.

1 comment
  1. pochp said:

    There was recent evidence that daydreaming is actually productive. Makes us more creative.
    Since daydreaming is almost similar to meditating,
    the theory is easier to believe, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

