Brad Warner Talks Depression and Sense of Self at Suicide Girls


Great post by Zen punk Brad Warner, talking about depression…

Daily zazen meditation has helped tremendously. But it doesn’t do magic. Sometimes it even makes you more aware of your depression. But then you start to get clues as to why you’re depressed and what depression actually is.

Depression is all about thought. The initial depression doesn’t always have a clear relationship to thought. But the thinking mind tends to seize upon depression and try to make something of it.

… and the sense of self:

I imagine that if I learned to create a different story for my life, I might feel differently about things. Maybe. I might even be more “successful” in the ways ordinary people conceive of success. But I’m not sure I’m really capable of the level of sustained practice that would involve. Plus I’m not sure I’d care for the outcome.

Funny, the second email he received reminded me a lot of the bastard I worked for, and I felt a lot like both the author and Brad.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

