What makes a person a Buddhist?

In some Buddhist traditions what distinguishes a Buddhist from a person who is not a Buddhist are what is called The Four Dharma Seals.

The first seal states that all composed things (sarva-samskrita) are impermanent (anitya).  The second seal states that everything that deteriorates is suffering (sarvs??srava-dhhkha), for example, the Five Aggregates consisting of form, sensation, perception, habitual tendencies, and sensory consciousness.  In fact, these aggregates, i.e., the psychophysical organism, are synonymous with suffering or duhkha.  The third seal states that nirvana is peace or sh??nti.  The fourth seal states that  all things are empty (shunya) and not of the self or ??tmaka.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: