Monkey Mind in the Digital Age


Monkey-mind

Being alone is another pleasure we too often neglect. When we are alone, we go on the Internet or TV to see what else is going on, what others are doing or saying, instead of just being alone. This isolation is a necessary thing, that allows us to find ourselves, to learn to be content with little instead of always wanting more. ~ Leo Babauta

Seems like now more than ever there’s so much that makes it hard to really let go of attachment; by definition our digital lives are truly ephemeral, subject to corruption, questionable scrutiny by a third party and plain old data loss. And I’m just as guilty: I notice how I simply switch from one device or application to another just to avoid the gap in mental activity.

It’s exhausting, frankly.

I find little joy in all my clever little digital distractions. And despite the plethora of tools I’ve downloaded for the sole purpose of writing something with  substance, I rarely write anymore outside of work.

2 comments
  1. Goddess Aphrodite said:

    I know what you mean. It’s almost as if we cannot function with complete silence. Yet I know that’s not true. Sometimes I long for simplicity, and going back into the wilds…with nature. There are far too many distractions in civilization.

  2. Edmund said:

    <html><head></head><body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div>I’m just as guilty of trying to fill every moment with some activity or another. Although I am proud of myself for (a) having closed my Facebook account and (b) having had no interest in TV for the last 6 years. :)</div><div><br></div><div><br></div><div></div><blockquote type="cite"><div><div style="width: 600px; font-size: 12px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 18px;" class="PosterousEmail"></div></div></body></html>

Leave a Reply

